Grand Prix Classic

Round 16 - Australian Grand Prix
Adelaide, 1-3 November, 1985
Team-by-Team Review

McLaren MP4/2B-TAG
1. Niki Lauda (Aut)
2. Alain Prost (Fr)

Prost qualifies 4th, with Lauda starting last race for team (and possibly of career) 16th after being forced into spare on Saturday. Prost battles with Surer for 3rd in race until engine blows on lap 27. Lauda advances steadily through the field to move up to 2nd by lap 45. Passes Senna to take the lead three laps later, but failing brakes catch him out, causing crash. Despite double retirement, McLaren still take second successive constructors' title, with Prost as champion and Lauda 10th overall.

Tyrrell 014-Renault
3. Ivan Capelli (It)
4. Martin Brundle (GB)

Brundle qualifies solid 17th, with returning Capelli 22nd. Brundle makes long stop to sort electrical problems. Circulates to finish, but 33 laps behind leader and not classified. After shaky debut at Brands, Capelli impresses with mature, sensible drive. Attrition moves him into the points on lap 57, and diligent driving takes the Italian to a lapped 4th place - Tyrrell's first points with Renault engine. Disjointed, unlucky season at least sees team at least finish 9th in constructors' standings.

Williams FW10-Honda
5. Nigel Mansell (GB)
6. Keke Rosberg (Fin)

Mansell starts 2nd with Rosberg 3rd for his final race with Williams. Mansell briefly leads, but is shoved off by Senna on first lap and then retires with broken transmission. Rosberg leads under varying levels of pressure from Senna for first 42 laps until stopping for tyres. Regains the lead when Senna pits, but drops to 3rd after long second stop. To 2nd when Lauda retires, catches Senna and takes the lead again when the Lotus retires. Despite precautionary third tyre stop takes second victory by over 45 seconds. Rosberg moves up to 3rd in championship, with Mansell 6th; team ties with Lotus for 3rd in constructors' standings.

Brabham BT54-BMW
7. Nelson Piquet (Brz)
8. Marc Surer (Swz)

For final race after seven seasons with Brabham, Piquet qualifies 9th, three places behind Surer - both running reduced boost to improve grip. Piquet out of 6th on lap 21 when an electrical fire breaks out under his seat. Surer on excellent form, battling with Prost and holding strong 3rd until BMW engine breaks on lap 43. Disappointing season sees Brabham distant 5th in constructors' standings, with Piquet 8th and Surer 13th in drivers' table.

Lotus 97T-Renault
11. Elio de Angelis (It)
12. Ayrton Senna (Brz)

Senna throws car around to secure pole, with de Angelis down in 10th for final Lotus race after six seasons with team. After falling behind on parade lap, de Angelis is black-flagged after 17 laps when 5th, and eventually comes in on lap 20. Senna has undisciplined outing, raggedly chasing Rosberg until damaging nose on back of the Williams on lap 42. Pits for replacement on lap 44, dropping to 3rd. Passes Lauda and retakes the lead when Rosberg makes his second stop. Still leading, but being caught by Rosberg, when Renault engine fails on lap 63. Slips to 4th in championship, with de Angelis 5th and team joint-3rd in constructors' cup.

Renault RE60B-Renault
15. Patrick Tambay (Fr)
16. Derek Warwick (GB)

After missing South African Grand Prix, team returns for swan-song. Tambay qualifies respectable 8th, with Warwick 12th. Tambay stops for tyres on lap 15 when 7th, and retires on lap 21 with broken transmission. Warwick reaches 5th before also succumbing to transmission failure on lap 58. Disastrous season sees team 7th in constructors' table behind customers Lotus and Ligier, with Tambay placing 11th and Warwick 13th.

Arrows A8-BMW
17. Gerhard Berger (Aut)
18. Thierry Boutsen (Bel)

Berger qualifies well in 7th, with Boutsen 11th. Berger impresses early on rising to 4th, but pits on lap 10 for fresh tyres. Boutsen also pits from 10th on lap 13, but retires from 9th on lap 38 when oil leak greases rear tyres and sends him into the wall. Berger makes second stop for tyres and battles with Johansson for 5th before going off into tyres. Nevertheless recovers to come home 6th for second points finish in as many races. Arrows place 8th in constructors' table, with Boutsen in 11th and Berger 17th.

Toleman TG185-Hart
19. Teo Fabi (It)
20. Piercarlo Ghinzani (It)

Engine problems disrupt practice, leaving Ghinzani 21st and Fabi 24th on the grid. Ghinzani reaches 13th by lap 15, but drops back and eventually retires with clutch problems. Fabi reaches 17th early on before engine begins to lose power, failing altogether on lap 43. Team finishes the season without points, but with a deal to run BMW engines with increased backing from Benetton for 1986.

Alfa Romeo 184TB-Alfa Romeo
22. Riccardo Patrese (It)
23. Eddie Cheever (USA)

Team find underpowered V8 suits circuit, allowing Cheever to qualify 13th and Patrese 14th. Cheever holds 10th laps 1-5 until engine expires; Patrese retires from 14th out of 15 runners on lap 41 when damaged exhaust finally breaks. No points for team in 1985, and shortly after the race Alfa Romeo announces it will be withdrawing before the 1986 season.

Osella FA1G-Alfa Romeo
24. Huub Rothengatter (Hol)

Rothengatter qualifies 25th and last, over ten seconds from pole after gearbox problems prevent him from running in Saturday afternoon session. Passes Martini on lap 4 and then drives sensible race to finish 7th, four laps down. Team's best result of the season followed by some good news as Alfa Romeo will continue to provide them with engines despite the withdrawal of their factory team.

Ligier JS25-Renault
25. Philippe Streiff (Fr)
26. Jacques Laffite (Fr)

Various problems limit Streiff to 18th and Laffite to 20th in practice. However, both drive quickly and reliably for most of the race, finding themselves 2nd (Laffite) and 3rd (Streiff) when Senna retires. Streiff then blots copybook with misjudged attempt to pass Laffite; limps around to secure first-ever points for 3rd, over 40 seconds behind Laffite and lucky to finish with broken front suspension, severely reducing chance of being retained for 1986. Nevertheless, ten point haul lifts team to 6th in constructors' table, with Laffite 9th and Streiff 15th.

Ferrari 156/85-Ferrari
27. Michele Alboreto (It)
28. Stefan Johansson (Swe)

Still with a chance of taking constructors' cup, Alboreto qualifies well in 5th but Johansson (finally signed for 1986) 15th. Alboreto 3rd laps 1-12 before stopping for tyres. Returns to 3rd after Lauda's retirement, only to stop himself with a broken gear linkage after 61 laps. Johansson pits from 13th on lap 13 and with a lack of grip and fuel consumption troubles struggles in midfield. Nevertheless passes Berger five laps from the end to finish 5th. Ferrari and Alboreto finish 2nd in respective championships, with Johansson 7th.

Minardi M185-Motori Moderni
29. Pierluigi Martini (It)

After relatively incident-free practice (only one spin) Martini qualifies 23rd. Passed by Rothengatter and runs last for whole race, but lasts the course to finish 8th for team's best finish yet, ending character-building year on a relative high note.

Beatrice-Lola THL-1-Hart
33. Alan Jones (Aus)

Jones recovered from fever, but team again plagued with engine trouble. Qualifies 19th for home race, but stalls on the grid and requires a push. Then drives in classic Jones style, moving up to strong 7th laps 15-19, but then drops back with misfire, retiring on lap 21. Nevertheless, progress clearly being made, and team relishing full season in 1986 with Ford turbo power and Patrick Tambay in second car.