Grand Prix Classic

Round 13 - Dutch Grand Prix
Zandvoort, 24-26 August, 1984
Team-by-Team Review

Brabham BT53B-BMW
1. Nelson Piquet (Brz)
2. Teo Fabi (It)

Piquet fastest on Friday, but suffers under-revving engine on Saturday and starts 2nd, with Fabi 10th. Piquet passes Prost off the line and leads comfortably until lap 11, when a broken oil union causes engine failure. Fabi runs 8th until spinning on 22 at Tarzan. Stops for fresh tyres and charges back to take 5th place.

Tyrrell 012-Cosworth
3. Stefan Johansson (Swe)
4. Stefan Bellof (Ger)

At slower Zandvoort circuit both cars qualify - Bellof 24th and Johansson 25th. Both drivers excel to run ahead of Gartner, both RAMS, Rothengatter and Winkelhock to finish 8th (Johansson) and 9th (Bellof, after stop for tyres), both two laps down. Team's appeal to FISA due to take place before Italian Grand Prix (when the team hopes to welcome back Martin Brundle from injury).

Williams FW09B-Honda
5. Jacques Laffite (Fr)
6. Keke Rosberg (Fin)

Some improvement at last - Rosberg 7th, despite best lap being spoilt by Lauda and Alliot, and Laffite 8th. Rosberg muscles up to 3rd, which he holds from laps 5-52, until being passed by Mansell. Holds 4th only to retire three laps from the end, out of fuel. Laffite moves up to 7th before Honda messily fails on lap 23.

McLaren MP4/2-TAG
7. Alain Prost (Fr)
8. Niki Lauda (Aut)

Prost takes pole position, with Lauda 6th. Prost 2nd to Piquet laps 1-10 until Piquet retires. Lauda moves up to 2nd by lap 12 after passing Warwick, de Angelis and Tambay. Closes on Prost, but the Frenchman responds and pulls away, winning by 10 seconds from Lauda. McLaren confirmed as Constructors Cup winners with three races to go, while Lauda continues to lead Drivers' Championship - but by reduced margin of 1.5 points.

RAM 02-Hart
9. Philippe Alliot (Fr)
10. Jonathan Palmer (GB)

Palmer qualifies well in 22nd, with Alliot only 26th after offending Lauda. Run in tandem for most of the race, Alliot ahead until Palmer goes by on lap 41. Finish 11th and 12th, four laps down, for second consecutive double finish.

Lotus 95T-Renault
11. Elio de Angelis (It)
12. Nigel Mansell (GB)

Team controversially announces signing of Ayrton Senna for 1985 and 1986. Favourite to drive alongside him, de Angelis qualifies 3rd. Mansell, rumoured to be on his way to Williams, only 12th after niggling mechanical problems on both days. After being passed by Lauda, presses Tambay for 4th until being carved up by Winkelhock. Eventually passed by charging Mansell on lap 52. Mansell finishes 3rd, full distance, de Angelis lapped 4th.

14. Manfred Winkelhock (Ger)

Winkelhock starts 16th after boost problems, and angrily denounces team's poor organisation, proclaiming he will not continue with ATS for 1985. Spins on lap 1, and pits to check for damage. Continues and passes Rothengatter, Alliot and Palmer to reach 19th by lap 18, but badly blocks de Angelis while being lapped. Only lasts four more laps before spinning out on Laffite's oil.

Renault RE50-Renault
15. Patrick Tambay (Fr)
16. Derek Warwick (GB)

Warwick qualifies 4th with Tambay 5th. Tambay up to 3rd at the start but passed by Rosberg on lap 4 and Lauda on lap 9. Holds 4th until lap 37 tyre stop, and drops to 9th. Charges back but loses fifth gear. Still comes home 6th. Warwick runs 6th laps 11-20 until being passed by Laffite, and spins off on the Williams' oil on lap 23.

Arrows A7-BMW
17. Marc Surer (Swz)
18. Thierry Boutsen (Bel)

Boutsen qualifies well in 11th, with Surer in 19th. Boutsen runs well, reaching 9th by lap 46, but eliminated by Arnoux on lap 59 when the Ferrari driver unexpectedly slows for the pits. Surer up to 16th on first lap, but retires on lap 16 from 15th when a wheel bearing breaks and throws him off the track.

Toleman TG184-Hart
19. Ayrton Senna (Brz)

Senna in bad auger after Lotus announce he will be driving for them in 1985. Qualifies 13th after having trouble heating Michelin qualifiers. Reaches 10th by lap 19 only for engine to expire. Team reportedly running Stefan Johansson in second car at Monza, presuming Martin Brundle fit again.

Spirit 101-Hart
21. Huub Rothengatter (Hol)

Focus of much media attention at home race, but struggles with low boost and understeer and winds up only 27th fastest, despite patriotic orange/white colour scheme. Allowed to start due to Tyrrell situation, and reaches 22nd by the end of the first lap. However, down to last by lap 10, and later plagued by throttle problems. Pits to see if anything can be done and continues, only for throttle cable to snap on lap 54, causing retirement.

Alfa Romeo 184T-Alfa Romeo
22. Riccardo Patrese (It)
23. Eddie Cheever (USA)

With poor straight-line speed both drivers on row 9 - Cheever ahead despite two blown engines on Friday, with Patrese suffering a broken turbo on Saturday. Cheever then shoved off by Hesnault on the first lap and drops to 26th. Charges, reaching 10th by lap 38. However, out of 9th on lap 65 when fuel tank inevitably runs dry. Patrese drives well, running 7th laps 38-39, but unable to fend off Fabi. Out of 9th on lap 51 with engine failure.

Osella FA1F-Alfa Romeo
24. Piercarlo Ghinzani (It)
30. Jo Gartner (Aut)

Ghinzani starts 21st after a turbo failure on Saturday, with Gartner 23rd. Ghinzani up to 17th on the first lap, but passed by de Cesaris and both Tyrrells before fuel pump shears on lap 8. Gartner passes Rothengatter and suffers fluctuating boost pressure, but nevertheless finishes 14th and last, five laps down.

Ligier JS23-Renault
25. Francois Hesnault (Fr)
26. Andrea de Cesaris (It)

Despite another blown engine, de Cesaris starts 14th, with Hesnault 20th after aborting quick lap due to team-mate's oil. After a poor start, de Cesaris battles through to 10th before another engine failure. Hesnault hits Cheever on the first lap, but goes on to drive a consistent, reliable race and finish in 7th place. Despite large budget and desirable Renault engines, team still tied with humble Osella in constructors' standings.

Ferrari 126C4-Ferrari
27. Michele Alboreto (It)
28. Rene Arnoux (Fr)

New suspension is little help, as Alboreto qualifies 9th and 1983 winner Arnoux only 15th. Alboreto first retirement after only 7 laps with engine failure. Arnoux reaches 7th on lap 28, but soon passed by Mansell. Stops for tyres lap 46, eliminating Boutsen in the process. Shows improved speed on resumption, setting fastest lap, only for electrics to fail when 8th on lap 66. Classified 13th.